Quick Answer: How Do I Delete Photos From My Gallery Without Deleting Them?

Can you delete photos from your phone and keep them in Google Photos?

You will still be able to view them any time in Google photos, it just means that you won’t have a copy stored on in your phone physically.

To Free up space on your Android device: On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .

To delete all the items from your phone, tap Free up..

Open the “Gallery” or “Photos” app. Open the album that contains the photo you wish to remove. Tap and hold the photo until a trash icon appears at the upper-right portion of the screen. Tap the “Trash” icon located at the upper-right portion of the screen.

How do I delete photos from my phone only?

Delete selected device copy photos from the device in the photos menuOpen the Google Photos app on your mobile device .Select one or more photos that are on the device.At the top right, tap on the “3 dots” menu icon.Select Delete Device Copy.More items…

Can you delete photos from your camera roll and keep them in an album?

Albums are like Playlists in iTunes. … Same with photos – but the library is the “Camera Roll” or “All Photos”, and albums are just lists of references to the photos in the library. If you delete a photo from an album, that will not affect other albums, and the photo itself will not be removed from the library.

On most Android phones there is a native photo app (including the Gallery you mention) and, if you install it, a Google Photos App. The Google Photos App will display all images that are either on your phone (already in the Gallery) or in the cloud (at photos.google.com), or both.

Are Google photos saved forever?

Albums are not preserved, but at least the photos are safe for incidents in account A. The photos do not use storage in account B, even when “Original” size is used, unless they are deleted from account A.

How do you permanently delete pictures from Gallery?

To permanently delete an item from your device:On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Select the items that you want to delete from your Android phone or tablet.At the top right, tap More Delete from device.

Go to “Settings” > “Accounts” > “Google“. From there, you can select the Google account you are using, then uncheck the “Sync Picasa Web Albums” option. Now under “Settings” > “Application manager“, swipe over to “All” > “Gallery“, and select “Clear data“.

What happens to permanently deleted photos?

it is not possible to recover photos permanently deleted from the Google Photos Trash. However, an option is to install to and Android device a deleted photo recovery app https://play.google.com/store/search?q=recover%20deleted%20photos&c=apps and run a scan for anything to recover.

How do you delete photos from an album without deleting them?

How can I remove a photo from an album without deleting it?Initiate the Photos app on your device.Select “Albums” at the bottom right corner.Select the album containing the photo you want to remove.Tap on “Select” in the upper right corner.Select the photo you want to remove.Select “Add To” at the bottom of the screen.Select the place where you want the photo to appear.

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

Hijas, photos do not convert to low quality unless you click “Recover Storage.” The “Free Up Space” option only deletes the photos from your device (to free up space) but the full quality photos can be accessed (if they were backed up correctly) through the Google Photos app and photos.google.com.

Does deleting an album delete the photos?

This is tricky, since when you select photos in an album and press the “delete” key (or drag them to the trash), it does not remove the photos from your library as a whole, it only removes them from the album. And, of course, deleting the album itself also leaves the photos in your library.

What do you do with thousands of pictures?

You can too if you’re scanning them or creating a storage system.Cull like crazy. … Honour your past but don’t cling to it. … Decide if you want to digitize. … Scan or take photographs of your old photos. … Decide if you want to keep all of your hard copy photos. … Display and share your old photos.

Why you should not use Google Photos?

It’s also unacceptable because it creates an excessive risk of sensitive data being exposed. People often take photos of things like private documents, or themselves naked. It’s very important only the right people get to see these things!

Can you trust Google Photos?

NO place is entirely safe, and Google Photos is no exception. Many lost their photos by own mistakes, accounts may get hacked. A good backup is the best safety. … Then you can make a backup from the laptop to other media like external hard disk, thumb drive, or to another cloud service.